Published: 11-08-2022 14:47 | Updated: 30-08-2022 13:16

Two final candidates for KI president

Rektorskandidater Annika Östman Wernerson och Eva Tiensuu Janson.
From left: Final candidates for the position of KI president Annika Östman Wernerson and Eva Tiensuu Janson. Photo: Erik Flyg (Annika Östman Wernerson) and David Naylor (Eva Tiensuu Janson)

Karolinska Institutet’s Election Committee has selected KI’s Professor Annika Östman Wernerson and Uppsala University’s Eva Tiensuu Janson as the two final candidates for the position of university president.

Both candidates will be presented to the Consultative College, which represents the university and its students and staff organisations.

After the hearing, the Election Committee will decide on whom to propose as president to the University Board.

The University Board will then make its decision on which candidate to propose to the government.

The government employs the presidents of state universities and university colleges on the proposal of their respective boards.

The new president will succeed Ole Petter Ottersen and assume office on 1 March 2023.

President candidates' CV and personal letter