Published: 01-05-2023 21:04 | Updated: 01-05-2023 21:06

New members of the University Board

The Karolinska Institutet University Board (konsistoriet) has gained two new members: director Sarah McPhee and Professor Emeritus Jan Nilsson. The decision was made by the government on 27 April in its appointment procedures for chairpersons and other external board members for 30 state higher education institutions. Their term office will run from 1 May 2023 to 30 September 2024.

Göran Stiernstedt has chaired the Karolinska Institutet board since 1 May 2020. Photo: Stefan Zimmerman

“I wish them both a warm welcome to the KI University Board,” says KI board chairperson Göran Stiernstedt. “Their experience and skills will complement those of the other members nicely. I’d also like to take this opportunity to thank the retiring members Lisa Sennerby Forsse and Jonas Milton for all their hard work on our board.”

The KI University Board comprises eight external members, chairperson included, all of whom are appointed by the government. Faculty, staff and student representatives also sit on the board.

The latest government decision means that as of 1 May, the board will include the following external members:

Police chief Carin Götblad, Professor Sophia Hober, Director General Carin Jämtin, Director Sarah McPhee, Professor Emeritus Jan Nilsson, Professor Emeritus Ingemar Petersson, Vice-Rector Björn Stensaker and Docent Göran Stiernstedt (chairperson).

The members have been appointed for a shorter term than usual and will sit on the board until 30 September 2024. The government explains that this is on account of “the international security situation and the importance of having such competence on the boards”. 

KI President Annika Östman Wernerson comments on the government's decision in this related article.