Published: 02-07-2021 12:53 | Updated: 02-07-2021 12:54

Karolinska Institutet to take over as chair of the Stockholm Trio

Sigbritt Karlsson, KTH, Astrid Söderbergh Widding, Stockholms universitet and Ole Petter Ottersen, KI. Photo: Stockholms universitet

On July 1 the president of Karolinska Institutet Ole Peter Ottersen will take over the chair of the Stockholm Trio, a university alliance which aims to create better interaction within research, education and collaborative projects.

“The pandemic has clearly demonstrated the importance of the complementary knowledge and competence of our trio of higher education institutions,” says Ole Peter Ottersen. With the joint initiatives taken, within research and education as well as the joint activities in Brussels, we are in a good position to continue to improve our university alliance nationally and internationally.

The President of Karolinska Institutet Ole Petter Ottersen will succeed Sigbritt Karlsson, President of KTH, as chairperson of the Stockholm Trio. The chair rotates between the presidents annually.

The Stockholm Trio are creating the conditions for collaboration

Since 2019 Karolinska Institutet, KTH and Stockholm University have formed the Stockholm Trio University Alliance with the aim of developing and highlighting the internationally prominent research and education environment that the three universities form in the Stockholm region. This provides universities with better conditions for closer interaction within research, education and collaborative projects. The universities can also become a stronger force regionally and nationally by engaging decision makers, authorities, commerce and industry together.