Published: 2019-11-08 09:35 | Updated: 2019-11-08 09:45

Jesper Z. Haeggström receives the International Eicosanoid Research Foundation Outstanding Achievement Award

Jesper Z. Haeggström, professor at the Department of Medical Biochemistry and Biophysics at Karolinska Institutet receives the Outstanding Achievement Award, for “his work on Leukotriene Biochemistry and their Role in Inflammatory and Allergic Diseases”. The prize is awarded by the International Eicosanoid Research Foundation (ERF) based in the US.

Charles Serhan and Jesper Z. Haeggström with the trophy.

The Award was handed out on October 22 during the banquet of the 16th International Conference on Bioactive Lipids in Cancer, Inflammation and Related Diseases, St Petersburg, Florida.

“This Outstanding Achievement Award is a highly prestigious award presented by an international board of distinguished professors to Professor Haeggstrom in recognition of his many decades of outstanding research contributions and leadership in the field” says Professor Charles N. Serhan, Ph.D., D.Sc., Gelman Professor of the Brigham and Women’s Hospital and Harvard University and a founding board member of the ERF.

“It is a great honor to receive this prize and special recognition by eminent international scholars within a vibrant research field with broad relevance across basic, translational and clinical sciences, and with unusual potential for drug development”, says Dr Haeggstrom.

About the International Eicosanoid Research Foundation (ERF)

The Eicosanoid Research Foundation is a non-profit organization funded from pharmaceutical sponsorships, foundation grants, conference exhibitors, advertisers, and registration fees from conference attendees. All funds raised are allocated to the promotion of this international conference series. The ERF is entirely devoted to providing a forum in which to discuss scientific advances in lipid research.