Published: 07-04-2022 14:55 | Updated: 10-05-2022 12:35

Birgitta Henriques Normark new President of The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences

Birgitta Henriques Normark. Photo: Stefan Zimmerman

Birgitta Henriques Normark has been elected new President of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences. She will succeed the present President, Dan Larhammar, on July 1st.

Birgitta Henriques Normark has had a long and successful career as a researcher. She has been both Academic Vice President for Research and Chairman of the Committee for Research at Karolinska Institute. She is also an elected member of the Nobel assembly at Karolinska Institutet, awarding the Nobel prize in Physiology or Medicine.