Published: 01-07-2024 08:03 | Updated: 01-07-2024 13:07

BioNut becomes new unit at MedH

A big part of MedH is now located in the Neo building at Campus South. Photo: Martin Stenmark

The activities of the Department of Biosciences and Nutrition has been wound up and merged with the Department of Medicine, Huddinge. This means that the Department of Medicine, Huddinge is growing and that the activity at the department broadens.

As of 1 July 2024, the Biosciences and Nutrition Unit (BioNut) is located at the Department of Medicine, Huddinge (MedH). BioNut was previously a department but following a decision by the university management, the project of integrating BioNut at MedH has been underway since the autumn 2023.

As the integration is finalised, BioNut becomes one of seven departments at MedH and the number of affiliates and staff at the department will be over 700. 

MedH already has units for heart and lung diseases, haematology, endocrinology, gastroenterology and rheumatology, infectious diseases and dermatology, as well as the Centre for Infectious Medicine (CIM). The Department carries out extensive research in a broad field of medicine, covering all internal medicine specialities, infectious diseases and skin diseases. The Department also provides undergraduate and postgraduate education and has several core facilities and centres linked to it.

Broadening research and education

With BioNut joining MedH, research activities are further broadened to include molecular ageing, cancer biology, biopharmaceuticals and biomaterials, functional genomics, structural biology, bioinformatics and nutrition. The BioNut unit is home to some 20 research groups. 

In addition, a Master's programme in nutrition and a Bachelor's programme in nutrition, commissioned by Stockholm University, are being added to the educational activities. There will also be courses in the biomedical programmes and the master's programme in molecular techniques in the life sciences.

With the integration of BioNut, MedH will also be home to three additional core facilities and two centres.