Published: 2020-10-13 07:06 | Updated: 2020-10-13 10:59

Nominate candidates for Karolinska Institutets Cultural Award

Bioclinicum and Karolinska University Hospital, Akademiska stråket
Bioclinicum and Karolinska University Hospital, Akademiska stråket Photo: Ann-Britt Wikström

The Advisory Board for Culture has decided to annually award an individual or group at KI for their valuable contribution towards an interaction between medical science and the general public, or a leading activity within Karolinska Institutet's cultural sphere.

Cultural, inter professional and translational research activities bring students and employees together, and contribute towards creativity and broader perspectives. The spreading of both knowledge and dialogue externally to society in general is a fundamental duty of Karolinska Institutet (KI).

New research discoveries need to be explained and put into context, and this knowledge can then be used to better understand society's progress and development. In this context the roll of researchers, teachers, and other employees is an important one, as are their contributions to popular science, and their contacts with the media.

Who can receive the prize?

Awards can be given to students, teachers, researchers or other person employed or affiliated to KI, and even to an organisation connected to KI. The award is entitled the KI Cultural Prize and will be handed out at the annual KI Culture and Creativity Day. The prize consists of an original piece of art and a diploma, both created by KI employees.

How to nominate

All employees, affiliated employees and students at Karolinska Institutet are now invited to nominate candidates for the prize, with a short nomination text. The nominations can be signed by individuals or groups, and can be sent anonymously.

Nominations should be sent by post or email to Registrator ( stating this reference number: Dnr 2-4198/2020.

Registrator, Karolinska Institutet, Nobels väg 5, 171 77 Stockholm

And should arrive on 19th October 2020 at the latest.

For further questions 

Ingemar Ernberg

Chairman of The Advisory Board for Culture