Published: 29-11-2012 00:00 | Updated: 26-11-2013 10:29

New Nobel Commettee for Physiology or Medicine

[NEWS 2012-11-28] The Nobel Assembly at Karolinska Institutet has elected Professor Juleen R. Zierath as Chairman of the Committee for Physiology or Medicine for 2013. She is the first female Chairman of the Nobel Committee and succeeds Professor Urban Lendahl, who concludes his six year term on the Nobel Committee.

Juleen R. Zierath is a professor of Clinical Integrative Physiology at Karolinska Institutet since 2001. Her research is focused on metabolism and diabetes, and she works at the Department of Molecular Medicine and Surgery, as well as the Department of Physiology and Pharmacology.

Professor Thomas Perlmann (Molecular Development Biology) will be the vice chairman of the Nobel Committee. Other members include Professors Jan Andersson (Infectious Diseases), Rune Toftgård (Environmental Toxicology) and Anna Wedell (Medical Genetics). In addition, ten ad hoc members are selected each year to serve on the Nobel Committee to provide expertise in a wide variety of research areas.

Professor Göran K. Hansson continues to serve as Secretary of the Nobel Committee and the Nobel Assembly, as well as Director of the Medical Nobel Institute.