Published: 2020-10-21 16:20 | Updated: 2020-10-21 16:21

New Faculty Council and Committee for Research representatives

During the Nominating Assembly's meeting on 20 October, two academic elections were held to elect three new members to the Faculty Council and one new teacher representative to the Committee for Research.

Karin Lore (Medicin Solna), Fredrik Piehl (Neuro), and Karl Ekwall (BioNut) have been elected as new members of the Faculty Council, replacing Gunnar Nilsson, Henrik Ehrsson and Helena Erlandsson whose mandate periods end on 31 December. The new members’ mandate periods are 1 January 2021 through 31 December 2023.

During a by-election, the Nominating Assembly elected Richard Rosenquist Brandell (MMK) as the new teacher representative on the Committee for Research, filling a previous vacancy. His term of office begins immediately and extends through 31 December 2022.


During the autumn nomination period, KI students and staff nominated 38 candidates for the Committee for Research vacancy and 23 candidates for the three open Faculty Council positions.

Committee for Research

The Committee for Research provides support to the Faculty Board through preparation, quality control and implementation activities regarding research.

Richard Rosenquist Brandell's term of office is 21 October 2021 through 31 December 2022.

Candidates and number of votes

(1 vote per Nominating Assembly member)

Richard Rosenquist Brandell (MMK): 25

Janne Lehtiö (OnkPat): 20

Arne Lindqvist (CMB): 17

Yenan Bryceson (Medicine Huddinge): 17

Faculty Council

The Faculty Council supports the university president's long-term strategic work and provides guidance on issues related to scientific activities at Karolinska Institutet. The council consists of nine permanently employed professors, two junior teachers, and three student representatives.

Karin Lore's, Fredrik Piehl's, and Karl Ekwall's term of office is 1 January 2021 through 31 December 2023.

Candidates and number of votes

(Up to 3 votes per Nominating Assembly member)

Karin Lore (Medicin Solna): 43

Fredrik Piehl (CNS): 43

Karl Ekwall (BioNut): 37

Bengt Fadeel (IMM): 28

Maria Hagströmer (NVS): 27

Ellenor Mittendorfer-Rutz (CNS): 20



Sara Sigsjö Administrative officer