Published: 2020-11-24 15:45 | Updated: 2020-11-25 08:36

Leo Hanke, Andrea Ponzetta and Charlotte Thålin are awarded the Jonas Söderquist scholarship year 2020

The Committee for Research at Karolinska Institutet has decided on recipients from Jonas Söderquist's scholarship foundation for basic research in virology and immunology 2020.
In accordance with the reviewers proposal, Leo Hanke (MTC), Andrea Ponzetta (MedH) and Charlotte Thålin (KIDS) are this year´s recipients.

Andrea Ponzetta, foto_Martina Molgora, Charlotte Thålin, foto_Carin Wesström, Leo Hanke, foto_John Sennett
A Ponzetta, foto_Martina Molgora, C Thålin, foto_Carin Wesström, L Hanke, foto_John Sennett

The reviewers give the following motivations;  

” Andrea Ponzetta, for studies of innate-like unconventional T cells as new regulators of the immune response against viral infection."

"Charlotte Thålin, for her studies of the release of neutrophil extracellular traps (NETs) as emerging central players in cancer biology and her studies on the duration and efficacy of humoral and cellular responses against SARS-CoV-2."

”Leo Hanke, for studies of nanobodies to inhibit potentially pandemic RNA viruses and for his aim to expand the platform for identification of antiviral nanobodies that he has established at KI."

The prize money is divided equally between the prize winners.


Kia Olsson Administrative officer