Published: 18-04-2017 13:48 | Updated: 18-04-2017 18:10

KI professor shares award with historical celebrities

Per-Olof Berggren, professor of experimental endocrinology at KI, has been elected member of the American Academy of Arts & Science. He share this distinguished award with historical celebrities, such as Albert Einstein, Winston Churchill and Nelson Mandela.

Professor Per-Olof Berggren is a Principal Investigator at the Department of Molecular Medicine and Surgery at KI. He will receive his formal introduction to the academy in October in Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA.

The American Academy of Arts & Science was founded in 1780 to cultivate art, science and education. Today, the organisation has over 5,000 members worldwide, and convenes leaders from the academic, business, and government sectors to address critical challenges facing our global society.

(This article has been updated and corrected.)

Some celebrity members of the American Academy of Arts & Science:
Benjamin Franklin, Thomas Jefferson, George Washington, Alexander Graham Bell, Margaret Mead, John F. Kennedy, Martin Luther King Jr, Charles Darwin, Albert Einstein, Winston Churchill, Laurence Olivier, Akira Kurosawa, Mary Leakey and Nelson Mandela.