Published: 27-02-2024 13:11 | Updated: 01-07-2024 09:58

KI employees celebrated for 30 years of zeal and integrity

Nit och redlighet 2023.
The ceremony for nit och redlighet 2023. President Annika Östman Wernerson recognises (left) Therese Pham, Martin Rottenberg, Helene Utterberg, Karin Wallin Blomberg and Anne-May Österholm. Photo: Karin Björklund-Jonsson.

On Thursday 22 February, the award "För nit och redlighet i rikets tjänst ("Zealous and Devoted Service of the Kingdom") for 2023 was presented at the Swedish Society of Medicine. A total of 30 employees at KI were recognized for their long and impeccable service. During the ceremony, Gunnar Nilsson and John Skår, recipients of KI's Silver Medal 2023, were also honoured.

The award "För nit och redlighet i rikets tjänst" (NOR) means that the employee has behaved impeccably. Normally, 30 years of service is required for an employee to be awarded a NOR, but if the person retires, 25 years of service is sufficient.

In her speech to the recipients, President Annika Östman Wernerson reflected, among other things, on the fact that those who were celebrated on this day began the same year that KI started a comprehensive transformation that laid the foundation for the organisation as it is today. They have been an important part of KI93.

The recipients of NOR 2023 are:

Group photo on the stairs of the recipients of the 2023 Nit och Redlighet Award.
Proud recipients of NOR 2023. Photo: Ulf Sirborn.

(In alphabetical order) Mikael Adner, Peter Andréasson, Ernest Arenas, Kristina Broliden, Marja-Liisa Dahl, Patricia Degnell, Lars Engstrand, Johan Ericson, Maria Eriksdotter, Bengt Fadeel, Jenny Flygare, Mikael Forsman, Johan Franck, Peter Fransson, Elisabeth Grenmyr, Lucie Laflamme, Nils-Göran Larsson, Mats Lekander, Riitta Ljungström, Jette Möller, Peri Noori, Lena Nordlöf, Anna-Lena Paulsson, Karin Perols, Therese M Pham, Martin Rottenberg, Helene Utterberg, Karin Wallin Blomberg, Anne-May Österholm.

Not present: Anna Humble. 

KI's Silver Medal

In connection with the ceremony, Karolinska Institutet's Silver Medal 2023 was also awarded to Gunnar Nilsson and John Skår. 

(From left) Martin Bergö, John Skår, Gunnar Nilsson and Annika Östman Wernerson at the presentation of the KI Silver Medal.
(Left) Martin Bergö, Gunnar Nilsson, John Skår and Annika Östman Wernerson. Photo: Ulf Sirborn.

The medal is awarded to people who have made particularly good contributions in support of KI's activities. Vice President Martin Bergö gave a speech to the recipients.

Medicinska Föreningen's Chamber Music Ensemble played during the ceremony and Anna Lantz, curator at the Hagströmer Library, lectured under the title "Animalcules: the discovery of the small world 1630-1830". After the ceremony, a three-course dinner was served.