Skip to main content
Published: 2019-12-10 11:03 | Updated: 2019-12-10 12:07

Government appoints members to new research misconduct board

The Swedish government has appointed 11 members to the new national research misconduct board that will go into effect on Jan. 1, 2020. Peter Allebeck, senior professor in social medicine at Karolinska Institutet and secretary general of the Swedish Research Council for Health, Working Life and Welfare (Forte), is among the new members. Justice Thomas Bull at the Supreme Administrative Court is appointed chairman.

Professor Peter Allebeck. Photo: Stefan Zimmerman
Senior Professor Peter Allebeck. Photo: Stefan Zimmerman.

New procedures for handling alleged misconduct in scientific research will be implemented in early 2020. In cases of suspected misconduct, a new state agency board will conduct an independent investigation rather than the institutions or research organizations themselves. Now, the government has appointed the new board members, including among others Peter Allebeck who has wide-ranging experience in research matters from his own time as a researcher at Karolinska Institutet, head of department, scientific editor and general secretary of the research council Forte.

“The research community has long called for issues concerning scientific misconduct to be investigated by an independent body and not by the educational institutions themselves,” says Peter Allebeck, who look forward to establishing the new agency together with his fellow board members. “The issues are often complex and seldom clear-cut, so it will be interesting to see how this will be handled in the new board.”

Other members of the board include:

Justice Thomas Bull (chairman), Supreme Administrative Court
Professor Toni Arndt, The Swedish School of Sports and Health Sciences
Professor Åke Arvidsson, Kristianstad University
Senior professor Margareta Fahlgren, Uppsala University
Professor Eva Forssell Aronsson, University of Gothenburg
Associate Professor Björn Petersson, Lund University
Professor Karin Sporre, Umeå University
Associate Professor Susanne Tornhamre, Karlstad University
Professor Uno Wennergren, Linköping University
Professor Cynthia de Wit, Stockholm University