Published: 05-06-2009 00:00 | Updated: 26-11-2013 10:29

Göran K Hansson elected to Nobel Foundation

Professor Göran K Hansson of Karolinska Institutet has been elected onto the board of directors of the Nobel Foundation. He succeeds Professor Hans Jörnvall, who has held this position for nine years.

Göran K Hansson
Göran K HanssonPhoto: Private

The board of trustees has responsibility for the administration of the Nobel Foundation's property, while the Nobel prizes are awarded by the various designated bodies, including the Nobel Assembly at Karolinska Institutet, which each year selects the winner of the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine.

Earlier this year, Professor Hansson took up his duties as secretary of the Nobel Assembly at Karolinska Institutet, again taking over from Professor Jörnvall. The post includes serving as secretary to the Nobel Committee, which reviews the laureate nominations, and as head of the Nobel Office at Karolinska Institutet.

Göran Hansson is professor at the Department of Medicine at Karolinska Institutet. He works at the Centre for Molecular Medicine at Karolinska University Hospital in Solna and is a member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences. He is the eighth secretary in the history of the medical Nobel prize.

For further information, contact: